killomm.blogg.se

How to format ssd format utility
How to format ssd format utility




how to format ssd format utility
  1. #HOW TO FORMAT SSD FORMAT UTILITY HOW TO#
  2. #HOW TO FORMAT SSD FORMAT UTILITY ZIP#
  3. #HOW TO FORMAT SSD FORMAT UTILITY DOWNLOAD#
  4. #HOW TO FORMAT SSD FORMAT UTILITY WINDOWS#

After I got 3 more of the SSDs (which turned out to be untouched Hitachi SSDs, not 3PARs, and therefore were standard 512 byte drives), I took down the SAN to experiment a bit more. In case anyone sees this later, I wanted to add my own resolution. I'm using it as a ZIL, so I don't really care about the size, but I want to do a couple more of these, and it'd be nice to have them all the same size

how to format ssd format utility

I figure I'd post this here for others getting ready to deal with the SSDs, and if they know a way to fix the above, that'd be great too. I figure there's an academic thing I need to do to fix it, but I'm not terribly sure what Perhaps that odd sectoring is why formatting it straight as 4K didn't work (then again, it might have to be 512 byte sectors. As such my 100GB drive is now as 12GB drive. In my brilliance, I didn't check to see what the number of cylinders was before. But, one thing I noticed is that the drive is now showing much fewer sectors, like I've essentially short-stroked it. About 520MB/s read / write with almost any size file. I couldn't write anything to it because it would announce an alignment issue in linux. Then I noticed that it was a reported 4K Sector size, so I thought "why not" and used sg_utils to put it to 4096.

#HOW TO FORMAT SSD FORMAT UTILITY HOW TO#

I followed the sg_utils post on How to reformat HDD & SSD to 512B Sector Size to get it back to 512. That stated, because it was an HP spare, it had 520 byte sectors, not 512. I got an HP Spare with almost no wear (1.3TB write, 4TB read). I'll just note what I noted from the Hitachi 100GB SSD Deal Thread: Sanitize command reported medium or hardware ~]# ~]# Sanitize: Fixed format, current Sense key: Medium ErrorĪdditional sense: Medium format corrupted NETAPP X414_S15K7560A15 NA08 peripheral_type: disk TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S203N SB01 ĪTA ST3250318AS CC44 You should see your drives listed as pd0, pd1, pd2, etc.īe sure you know which drive number you want to format and run: Run an admin command prompt, change to SG3, then run:

#HOW TO FORMAT SSD FORMAT UTILITY DOWNLOAD#

Download the SG3 utilities from and extract to a folder on your C drive (I did SG3).

#HOW TO FORMAT SSD FORMAT UTILITY WINDOWS#

I had windows installed on a disk connected directly to the motherboard.

how to format ssd format utility

#HOW TO FORMAT SSD FORMAT UTILITY ZIP#

Here’s how I flashed the H310:ġ) Create a USB boot disk (I used Rufus, Fat32, FreeDOS).Ģ) Download this zip file: 3) Extract and place on boot disk (I created a folder called LSI for it on my boot disk)Ĥ) Boot using boot disk, change dir to LSI and run: Before flashing, it would behave just like the embedded raid 6i raid controller. I purchased a Dell H310 off ebay and had to flash it to be able to do anything with the drives. While I could see the drives in Ctrl-R, I couldn’t do anything with them – no hot spare, no raid, nothing. I had a Dell 2950 rack server in my lab with a Perc 6i Raid controller. I purchased a few of the Hitachi HUS156060VLS600 formatted for NetApp with a 520 sector size. I’ve read through these 4 pages about 20 times. There's this SIX option to use in case drive cannot be formatted with default 10 byte MODE SENSE/SELECT It's possible to reformat drives with recent HP SmartArray in HBA mode.Ģ. I now have nice 1.92TB for oh so cheap.ġ. six|-6 use 6 byte MODE SENSE/SELECT to probe diskĬ:\sg3>sg_format -format -size=512 -six -v pd1Ī FORMAT UNIT will commence in 15 secondsĪ FORMAT UNIT will commence in 10 seconds However, after looking at command line options a bit: MODE SELECT command: Illegal request sense key, apart from Invalid opcode Sense Key Specific: Error in Data parameters: byte 0 Mode select (10) cdb: 55 11 00 00 00 00 00 00 1a 00įixed format, current Sense key: Illegal RequestĪdditional sense: Parameter list length error Mode Sense (block descriptor) data, prior to changes: SanDisk DOPE1920S5xnNMRI 3P01 peripheral_type: disk At first I was getting this:Ĭ:\sg3>sg_format -format -size=512 -v pd1 I only have HP Smart Array controllers, so I set my P222 into HBA mode. Today I bought HP 3PAR/SanDisk SAS 1.92TB SSD with 520b sector size.






How to format ssd format utility